Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

johnny cash indian

3 posters

Go down

johnny cash indian Empty johnny cash indian

Post  smitty Sun 23 Jan 2011, 10:25 am

hi! i am new to indian and new to this forum. i bought a complete basket case from a friend of mine. it has a '46 frame, 1950 motor with 74" flywheels and a '50's kph police speedo.(hence the johnny cash reference in the title) i am going to try to assemble this bike but i know i will need some help. i have already read some good info on this forum. i have also been told that i should stay away from parts made in india due to there lower quality. i was also told to not use stock tanks but to use iron corral tanks. thoughts?
i have found that some parts seem to be hard to find, ie transmissions. would a 3 speed be good or is it worth the money to save up and buy a 4 speed? also about parts. is there a parts and technical manual that has specs you need and procedures? for example, standard bore, valve spring specs, valve guide/valve fitments, etc., etc.. i know kiwi is suppose to come out with something.
as far as a goal on this bike. i love a stock indian and want it to look as stock as possible but i want the reliability and dependability to be able to jump on my indian and ride around the world like doug wothke did a couple of years ago, if i so choose. thanks for letting me jump all over the place but i am excited and ready to go. my wallet, maybe not as much. thanks!

smitty

Back to top Go down

johnny cash indian Empty Re: johnny cash indian

Post  Micmac Mon 24 Jan 2011, 8:58 pm

If you ain't building a AMCA show bike for points Shocked You have lots of wiggle room for more realibility. Iron Horse Corral makes a good product, ready to go. Original tanks are seldom ready to "bolt on" and require extensive (expensive) time consuming work http://www.theironhorsecorral.com/pag/about.html